Sugar and tea, a story of affinity

The more or less pronounced bitterness in a cup of tea is not solely a question of how much leaves you put into your pot. It appears when the caffeine molecules disperse and diffuse into the liquid. We all know that it gives us a boost, eliminates fatigue and increases our concentration, but we also […]

IMG_0100

tasse blog

The demand in tea is increasing

During the past 100 years, tea production worldwide has increased tenfold and is currently hovering on the 5.4 million tons per year. Happily, all overt the world, the sales of tea follow the same pattern. Even if the cost of raw materials has tended to rise in the recent years due to unpredictable weather almost […]


The rebirth of a forgotten Oolong

For decades, China has unveiled its ancestral know-how in tea and that’s saying a lot! But, it has not yet given up all its secrets, moreover Zhangping Shuixan tea is the proof. Since 2015, a young tea producer has decided to reconnect  with a forgotten tradition passed away for around 5 generations and to make […]

moule Zhang ping shui shen

DSC_0428

Drama in Darjeeling

It is not the first time that there are political problems in Darjeeling, but it is the first time that it lasts so long and with so much violence. For over 2 months, the separatist political movement “Gorkhaland” is blocking the region. They have been asking for years for the creation of an independant state. The […]


What the parallel between Sauternes sweet wine and tea ?

I have this week the visit of the Indian exporter I have been working with for decades. I know, he likes red wine but, this year, I decide to take him to the small terroir « Sauternes », located south of Bordeaux and famous for it sweet white wine.  Why ? Because the parallel between this sweet wine […]

Verre-sauterne

IMG_2009

Chong Tae Jeon, the Korean cake tea

I never heard about this antic Korean practice before consisting in aging tea pressed like small cakes, then to skewer them one after the other on a thread and to hang these strings of tea on the ceiling while waiting to be drunk. This long standing custom remains of the post fermented Pu-Ehr cake teas […]

Sucre et thé, une histoire d’affinité

La sensation d’amertume, plus ou moins prononcée que l’on rencontre en buvant une tasse de thé n’est pas uniquement due à un dosage plus ou moins ou moins fort. Elle apparait quand les molécules de théine se dispersent et se diffusent dans le liquide. Nous savons tous qu’elle nous donne […]

IMG_0100

tasse blog

La demande en thé se porte bien

Au cours des 100 dernières années, la production mondiale de thé a décuplé et tourne actuellement autour de 5,4 millions de tonnes par an. Fort heureusement, partout dans le monde, le chiffre des ventes de thé suit la même courbe. Même si le prix du thé a tendance à évoluer […]


La renaissance d’un Oolong oublié

Depuis des décennies, la Chine nous dévoile son savoir-faire ancestral en thé et ce n’est pas peu dire ! Mais, elle n’a pas encore livré tous ses secrets, le Zhangping Shuixan tea en est la preuve. Depuis 2012, un jeune producteur a décidé de renouer avec une tradition oubliée depuis plus […]

moule Zhang ping shui shen

DSC_0428

Drame en Darjeeling

Ce n’est pas la première fois que des problèmes politiques agitent Darjeeling mais c’est la première fois qu’ils durent si longtemps et avec autant de violence. Depuis plus de 2 mois, le mouvement séparatiste « Gorkhaland » bloque la région. Leur demande est encore et toujours la création d’un état indépendant. Les Gorkhas, […]


Quel rapport entre le vin blanc de Sauternes et le thé ?

Je reçois cette semaine l’exportateur indien avec lequel je travaille depuis des décennies et décide de lui faire découvrir les vins doux du terroir de Sauternes au sud de Bordeaux. Pourquoi ? Car le parallèle entre ce vin là et certains thés me semble intéressant. Le premier parallèle réside dans l’intervention naturelle […]

Verre-sauterne

IMG_2009

Chong Tae Jeon, la galette de thé coréenne

Je n’avais jamais entendu parler de cette antique pratique coréenne qui consiste à faire vieillir du thé pressé en petites galettes de différentes tailles, à les embrocher sur un fil à la queue leu-leu et à pendre ces chapelets de thé au plafond en attendant de les boire. Cette coutume […]